Forty Years of Celebrating Military Excellence

Some of the links below lead to a site belonging to an entity not subject to the Official Languages Act. Information on this site is available in the language of the site.

The Order of Military MeritCommander of the Order of Military Merit Medal (CMM)Officer of the Order of Military Merit Medal (OMM)Member of the Order of Military Merit Medal (MMM)


It was on 1 July 1972 that Her Majesty the Queen established the Order of Military Merit (ORMM) to provide a worthy means of recognizing conspicuous merit and exceptional service by members of the Canadian Forces.  Since then, over 4,000 distinguished members of Her Majesty’s Canadian Forces have been recognized by Crown and Country for their outstanding service to Canada through admission or promotion in this prestigious Order.

Several projects were undertaken to suitably commemorate this important milestone.


Unveiling of commemorative monument
of Her Majesty The Queen on the
occasion of the 40th Anniversary of
the Order of Military Merit
Photo Credit - Corporal Jax Kennedy,
Canadian Forces Combat Camera
© 2012 DND-MDN Canada

General Walt Natynczyk, Chief of the Defence Staff, hosted a reception on 7 June 2012 to honour the newly invested members of the Order of Military Merit and to mark the 40th Anniversary of the Order. Commemorative initiatives were showcased during the event, including the launch of “The Order of Military Merit”, a book which was written by renowned Canadian honours historian, Dr. Christopher McCreery, and commissioned by the Department of National Defence to celebrate this anniversary, as well as by the unveiling of a special commemorative sculpture of Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II.


Commemorative monument of Her Majesty
The Queen and Founding Sovereign of the
Order of Military Merit
Photo Credit - Phil White, PWGSC




The commemorative monument was unveiled by General Natynczyk and Mr. James B. Love, Chair of the Royal Canadian Mint Board of Directors. This new monument developed by Dominion Sculptor, Mr. Phil White is a bust depicting Her Majesty wearing her insignia as Sovereign of the Order of Canada and of the Order of Military Merit, as well as the Grand Duchess Vladimir of Russia tiara, and Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubilee necklace. The monument will be permanently displayed in the main concourse of National Defence Headquarters, in Ottawa.

Order of Military Merit Fact Sheet

The Order of Military Merit recognizes distinctive merit and exceptional service displayed by the men and women of the Canadian Forces, both Regular and Reserve. Many have demonstrated dedication and devotion beyond the call of duty, and the Order honours them for their commitment to Canada, according to the following three levels:

Eligibility and Nominations

Nominations are submitted through the chain of command and are considered by the ORMM Advisory Council. The Council recommends to the Chief of the Defence Staff the names of those serving members of the Canadian Forces, both Regular and Reserve, they consider eligible. The Chief of the Defence Staff then submits the names to the Governor General for approval on behalf of the Queen.

The number of appointments per year is limited to one-tenth of one per cent of the average number of persons who were members of the Canadian Forces during the previous year. In 2011, for instance, 114 appointments were made. There are no posthumous appointments.

Recipients may be promoted within the Order. They must exchange their insignia for that which corresponds to the new level, since no member may hold more than one appointment at any time.

The Order’s constitution permits members of the Armed Forces of another country to be appointed as honorary Commanders, Officers and Members. Appointments are made for outstanding meritorious service to Canada or to the Canadian Forces in the performance of military duties.

Officials of the Order since 1972

The Order of Military Merit Book

Produced by the Directorate of Honours and Recognition, The Order of Military Merit was commissioned to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the foundation of this Order by Her Majesty the Queen on 1 July 1972.  This work by renowned Canadian honours historian Christopher McCreery is the first to examine the origins and development of the Order. This book highlights the history of this honour and pays tribute to the extraordinary men and women of Her Majesty’s Canadian Forces who have earned it and wear it with pride and distinction.

A limited number of books will be distributed throughout the Canadian Forces by the Director Supply Chain Operations (DSCO) and an electronic version will soon be available on-line on the DH&R website.

Copies of the book are available while quantities last by contacting DH&R_DDHR@forces.gc.ca.

The Order of Military Merit 40th Anniversary Promotional Items

To enhance the visibility of the Order and to increase the feeling of brotherhood among its members, both serving and retired, a line of promotional items is being launched. They include a limited edition and numbered commemorative plate, cufflinks, a broach, a tie and scarf and other items. These may be purchased from the official supplier, Guthrie Wood Products Limited, at their new OMM Kit Shop available at www.guthriewoods.com/omm. These will undoubtedly be memorable gifts from family, colleagues and friends on the occasion of admissions or promotions in the Order or upon the retirement of a member of the Order. While anyone may purchase the articles, the wearable items may only be worn by members of the Order. Five percent of the wholesale price of each item sold will be donated to the Military Families Fund.

40 ans à célébrer l’excellence militaire

Certains des liens ci-dessous conduisent à un site d'une entité non assujettie à la Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information sur ce site est disponible dans la langue du site.

L'Ordre du mérite militaireCommandeur de l'Ordre du mérite militaire (CMM)Officier de l'Ordre du mérite militaire (OMM)Membre de l'Ordre du mérite militaire (MMM)


C’est le 1er juillet 1972 que Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II a institué l’Ordre du mérite militaire afin de reconnaître à leur juste valeur le mérite particulier et le service exceptionnel des militaires des Forces canadiennes. Depuis ce temps, la Couronne et le pays ont reconnu 4 000 membres distingués des Forces canadiennes de Sa Majesté en les admettant et en leur accordant une promotion au sein de cet Ordre prestigieux, qui est le second ordre national canadien, après l’Ordre du Canada.

Plusieurs projets ont été entrepris pour commémorer de façon appropriée cette étape importante.


Dévoilement du monument commémoratif
de Sa Majesté La Reine à l'occasion
du 40e anniversaire de l'Ordre du mérite militaire
Crédit photo : Caporal Jax Kennedy,
Caméra de combat des Forces
canadiennes, © 2012 DND-MDN Canada

Le général Walt Natynczyk, Chef d’état-major de la Défense a donné une réception le 7 juin 2012 pour rendre hommage aux nouveaux membres de l’Ordre du mérite militaire et pour souligner le 40e anniversaire de l’Ordre. Diverses activités de commémoration ont eu lieu tout au long de la soirée, notamment le lancement du livre de l’Ordre du mérite militaire, un ouvrage commandé par le ministère de la Défense nationale pour célébrer cet anniversaire et rédigé par M. Christopher McCreery, historien canadien reconnu et spécialiste en matière de distinctions honorifiques, ainsi que la présentation officielle d’une sculpture commémorative de Sa Majesté, la Reine Elizabeth II.


Monument commémoratif de Sa Majesté
la Reine et Souveraine fondatrice
de l’Ordre du mérite militaire
Crédit photo : Phil White, TPSGC



Le monument commémoratif a été dévoilé par le général Natynczyk et M. James B. Love, président du conseil d’administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Ce nouveau monument consiste d’un buste de Sa Majesté créé par M. Phil White, sculpteur du Dominion du Canada. Le buste représente Sa Majesté portant ses insignes de Souveraine de l’Ordre du Canada et de l’Ordre du mérite militaire, ainsi que le diadème de la grande-duchesse Vladimir de Russie et le collier du jubilé d’or de la reine Victoria. Le monument sera exposé en permanence dans le grand hall du quartier général de la Défense à Ottawa.

Renseignements sur l’Ordre du mérite militaire

L’Ordre du mérite militaire reconnaît le mérite particulier et le service exceptionnel de Canadiens et Canadiennes qui, dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions au sein de la Force régulière et de la Réserve, ont fait preuve d’un dévouement bien au-delà de ce que le devoir leur commandait. Pour leur dévouement exemplaire envers le Canada, ils sont reçus dans l’Ordre du mérite militaire, dans l’un des grades suivants :

Admissibilité et mises en candidature

Les mises en candidature sont présentées par la chaîne de commandement et sont examinées par le Conseil consultatif de l’Ordre du mérite militaire. Le Conseil recommande au Chef d’état-major de la Défense le nom des militaires en service des Forces canadiennes, tant au sein de la Force régulière que de la Réserve, qu’il considère comme admissibles. Le Chef d’état-major de la Défense soumet ensuite les noms au Gouverneur général aux fins d’approbation an nom de la Reine.

Le nombre de nominations par année ne doit pas dépasser un dixième d’un pour cent du nombre moyen de personnes qui étaient membres des Forces canadiennes au cours de l’année précédente. En 2011, par exemple, on a procédé à 114 nominations. Les nominations posthumes ne sont pas acceptées.

Les récipiendaires peuvent être promus au sein de l’Ordre. Le cas échéant, ils doivent remplacer leur insigne par celui qui correspond à leur nouveau grade puisqu’aucun militaire ne peut détenir plus d’un grade à la fois.

La constitution de l’Ordre permet aux membres des forces armées d’autres pays d’être nommés à titre de Commandeur, d’Officier ou de Membre honoraire. Ces nominations permettent de souligner le service méritoire exceptionnel rendu au Canada ou aux Forces canadiennes dans l’exercice de tâches militaires.

Dignitaires de l’Ordre depuis 1972

Le livre L’Ordre du mérite militaire

Produit par la Direction – Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissance, L’Ordre du mérite militaire a été commandé afin de célébrer le 40e anniversaire de l’institution de l’Ordre par Sa Majesté la reine le 1er juillet 1972. Cet ouvrage rédigé par Christopher McCreery, l’historien reconnu des distinctions honorifiques canadiennes, est le premier à traiter des origines et de l’évolution de l’Ordre. Il présente les faits saillants de l’histoire de la distinction et rend hommage aux hommes et femmes extraordinaires des Forces canadiennes de Sa Majesté qui l’ont reçu et qui le portent avec fierté et distinction.

Un nombre limité d’exemplaires sera distribué au sein des Forces canadiennes par le Directeur – Opérations de la chaîne d’approvisionnement et une version électronique sera bientôt ajoutée au site Web de la Direction – Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissance.

Pour obtenir un exemplaire du livre veuillez contacter DH&R_DDHR@forces.gc.ca.

Articles promotionnels pour le 40e anniversaire de l’Ordre du mérite militaire

Une gamme d’articles promotionnels a été créée afin d’augmenter la visibilité de l’Ordre et de renforcer le sentiment de fraternité entre ceux qui en sont membres, tant ceux en service et qu’à la retraite. Parmi les articles de la collection, on trouve une assiette commémorative d’édition limitée et numérotée, des boutons de manchette, une broche, une cravate et une écharpe. Tous les articles sont numérotés et produits en nombre limité. Vous pouvez vous procurer ces articles auprès du fournisseur officiel, Guthrie Wood Products Limited, en visitant la nouvelle boutique de l’Ordre à l’adresse www.guthriewoods.com/omm. Ces articles constituent sans aucun doute un cadeau mémorable que des membres de la famille, des collègues ou des amis peuvent offrir lorsqu’une personne est admise ou promue au sein de l’Ordre ou au moment du départ à la retraite d’un membre de l’Ordre. Il est à noter que bien que toute personne puisse acheter les articles portant l’insigne de l’Ordre, seuls les membres de l’Ordre peuvent les porter. Enfin, mentionnons que cinq pour cent du prix de vente au détaillant de chaque article sera remis au Fonds pour les familles militaires.