Medals NEWS 3/2008

Honours and Recognition Newsletter
Vol. 2 Issue 1, March 2008

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


The Order of Military Merit: way ahead

Picture of the Order of Military Merit

2007 marked the 35th anniversary of the institution of the Order of Military Merit (ORMM) as the pre-eminent form of recognition for long term merit for CF personnel. Since 1972, this rare honour has been bestowed on over 3,300 of the most outstanding members the CF, the standard of merit having remained consistently high. The few who are invited to Rideau Hall to receive their insignia of membership in this prestigious and select group from our Governor General and Commander-in-Chief represent the highest standards of professionalism and leadership in the military profession.

On the occasion of this anniversary, the ORMM Advisory Council conducted a review of the state of the Order and approved a number of important measures to ensure that it will remain a respected and worthy form of recognition to which all personnel can aspire. These recommendations are wide ranging and will change the face of the Order; a necessary measure to ensure the membership is a reflection of the current CF population.


CWO J.M.M. Poirier, M.M.M., C.D.,
May 31, 2007.

Changes to the Order

The following is a highlight of the direction given:


Maj F.L. Chilton-Mackay, O.M.M., C.D., and the
Governor General, May 31, 2007.

More details can be found in CANFORGEN 188/07. The Council is confident that these changes will ensure all CF personnel will continue to identify with the Order and consider it an achievable and worthy goal in their careers.

Issued by the Directorate of Honours and Recognition (DH&R) 1 March 2008
Telephone 1-877-741-8332

NOUVELLES de médailles 3/2008

Bulletin des Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissances
Vol. 2 No. 1, mars 2008

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


L’avenir de l’Ordre du mérite militaire

Photo de l'Ordre du mérite militaire

En 2007, on a célébré le 35e anniversaire de la création de l’Ordre du mérite militaire (OMM), qui est la plus importante forme de récompense servant à saluer le mérite à long terme du personnel des FC. Depuis 1972, on a accordé cet honneur rare à quelque 3 300 militaires canadiens exceptionnels. Les critères de mérite sont toujours restés très élevés. Les quelques heureux élus qui sont invités à Rideau Hall pour recevoir l’insigne de membre de cet ordre exclusif, remis par la gouverneure générale et commandante en chef, répondent aux exigences les plus élevées en matière de professionnalisme et de leadership chez les militaires.

À l’occasion de cet anniversaire, le Conseil consultatif de l’ORMM a mené un examen de la situation de l’Ordre et il a approuvé un certain nombre de mesures importantes afin que ce dernier demeure une forme de reconnaissance respectée et digne à laquelle tous les militaires peuvent aspirer. Les recommandations sont très larges et changeront l’Ordre, ce qui est nécessaire pour que ses membres représentent la population actuelle des FC.


L'adjuc J.M.M. Poirier, M.M.M., C.D.,
le 31 mai 2007.

Changements à l'ordre

Voici certaines des recommandations :


Le maj F.L. Chilton-Mackay, O.M.M., C.D., et la
gouverneure générale, le 31 mai 2007.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez le CANFORGEN 188/07. Le Conseil à espoir que ces changements permettront au personnel des FC de continuer à s’identifier à l’Ordre et à le considérer comme un objectif valable et atteignable dans leur carrière.

Publié par la Direction - Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissance (DDHR) 1er mars 2008
Téléphone 1-877-741-8332