Medals NEWS 8/2008

Honours and Recognition Newsletter
Vol. 2 Issue 4, August 2008

The following documents are available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


The Sacrifice Medal

It was announced on 29 August 2008 that Her Majesty The Queen approved the creation of the Sacrifice Medal to provide formal recognition to those who are killed or wounded by hostile action.  This new honour replaces the traditional Wound Stripe.

Artitistic rendering of the Sacrifice Medal
Artistic rendering of the Sacrifice Medal

Eligibility

Eligibility is limited to:

The new medal is not limited to service in Afghanistan, but applies to all theatres of operations and, in the case of terrorist attacks, anywhere in the world. Accidents, even in theatre, are not eligible; neither are relatively minor wounds that can be ‘patched up’ by the platoon medic. Friendly fire and operational stress injuries that are the direct result of a hostile action will carry eligibility under certain circumstances. For the medal to retain its value, Commanding
Officers and medical personnel will play a key role in ensuring the criteria are applied strictly and uniformly.

The details...

The statue "Canada" from the National Vimy Memorial, as shown on the medal's reverse
The statue "Canada"
from the National Vimy Memorial,
as shown on the medal's reverse

It is the responsibility of the Commanding Officer in theatre to complete the application form ( DND 2479), which also includes a signed declaration by a medical officer. For those eligible personnel who have returned to Canada, the home unit will make the application. In the case of psychological trauma, a medical specialist will review the case to determine if the trauma was caused by hostile action.

Recipients of the Medal who subsequently meet the criteria for an additional incident will be awarded a bar. The Medal, which will be struck in sterling silver by the Royal Canadian Mint and engraved with the recipient’s details on the edge, will be the first medal in the order of precedence, ie, worn after the insignia of orders and decorations (i.e. after the Royal Victorian Medal), but before all campaign and service medals.

The inaugural presentation of the Sacrifice Medal will be held by the Governor General at a later date, following which general distribution will start with priority given to posthumous awards.

 

Further information is available from CANFORGEN 163/08 and on the DH&R Website.

Issued by the Directorate of Honours and Recognition (DH&R)- 29 august 2008
Telephone : 1-877-741-8332

Website : www.cmp-cpm.forces.gc.ca/dhr-ddhr/index-eng.asp

NOUVELLES de médailles 8/2008

Bulletin des Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissances Vol. 2 No. 4, août 2008

Les documents suivants peuvent être visualisés ou téléchargés :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


La Médaille du sacrifice

On a annoncé le 29 août 2008 que Sa Majesté la Reine a approuvé la création de la Médaille du sacrifice pour reconnaître officiellement ceux qui ont été tués ou blessés en en conséquence directe d’un acte hostile. Cette nouvelle distinction honorifique remplace l’ancien galon de blessé.

Dessin d'artiste de la médaille du sacrifice
Dessin d'artiste de la médaille du sacrifice

Admissibilité

Voici les critères d’admissibilité :

La nouvelle médaille n’est pas restreinte au service en Afghanistan. Elle peut être décernée pour tous les théâtres d’opérations et, dans le cas d’attaques terroristes, peu importe où ils se produisent dans le monde. Les accidents, même en théâtre, ne sont pas admissibles, ni les blessures relativement mineures qui peuvent être « soignées rapidement » par le technicien médical du peloton. Les personnes victimes de tirs amis et de traumatismes liés aux stress opérationnel qui sont directement liés à un acte hostile seront admissibles dans certaines circonstances. Pour que la médaille retienne sa valeur, les commandants et le personnel médical joueront un rôle clé en veillant à ce que les critères soit appliqués strictement et uniformément.

Les détails...

La statue "Canada" du monument commémoratif de Vimy, qui apparaît au revers de la médaille
La statue "Canada"
du monument commémoratif de Vimy,
qui apparaît au revers de la médaille

Les commandants en théâtre ont la responsabilité de remplir le formulaire de demande (DND 2479), qui comprend aussi une déclaration signée du médecin militaire. Pour le personnel admissible qui est de retour au Canada, l’unité d’appartenance effectuera les démarches. Dans le cas d’un trauma psychique, un médecin spécialiste fera une revue du cas pour déterminer si le trauma a été causé par des actes hostiles.

Les récipiendaires de la médaille qui satisfont aux critères à la suite d’un autre incident se verront attribuer une barrette. La médaille en argent sterling sera produite par la Monnaie royale canadienne, et les détails du récipiendaire seront gravés sur la tranche de la médaille, qui sera la première médaille dans l’ordre de préséance, c.-à-d. qu’elle sera portée après les insignes des ordres et décorations (c.-à-d. après la Médaille royale de Victoria), mais avant toutes les médailles de campagne et de service.

  Les premières Médailles du sacrifice seront présentées par la Gouverneure générale lors d’une cérémonie à une date ultérieure. Par la suite une distribution générale commencera, et la priorité sera donnée aux attributions posthumes.

Pour plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le CANFORGEN 163/08 et le site web de la DDHR .

Publié par la Direction - Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissance (DDHR) - 29 août 2008
Téléphone : 1-877-741-8332

Website : www.cmp-cpm.forces.gc.ca/dhr-ddhr/index-fra.asp